Christopher Morgan Loy, ComposerAudio Samples

String Quartet No. 1 (2002) Listen
-- two violins, viola, cello

Funded by a grant from the New York State Council on the Arts, distributed by the Community Arts Partnership of Tompkins County, as part of a community outreach project. The work is in three movements with an extended introduction. I. Andante con poco rubato—Alla Breve (Vivace) II. Meditation (Lento) III. Allegro Scherzando.
Premiered by and dedicated to the Ariadne String Quartet on September 7, 2003.

Four Hand Dances (1995) Listen
-- piano

A work in four movements for piano duet, each representing a diversity of mood and character. Allegro, Interlude--Notturno, Slowdance ... Memories, Allegro Assai. Dedicated to Michael Salmirs. Premiered by Mr. Salmirs and the composer in Ithaca, NY on October 1, 1995.

Sonata (1982) Listen
-- Bb clarinet & piano

Commissioned by Brian Schweickhardt. Premiered on March 8, 1982 at the Scarab Club in Detroit, MI. Mr. Schwieckhardt, clarinet, the composer at the piano. The sonata makes a bold statement by means of fully exploiting the extreme technical capabilities of both the clarinet and piano. It is a rhythmically vital work imbued with a tenacious lyricism. In three movements, a synthesis of the disparate sensual natures of the clarinet and piano is achieved.

Sonata (1979) Listen
-- oboe & piano

Three movements: Andante, Mesto con reflectivo, Molto Allegro e con brio.
Dedicated to Katherine Ceasar, oboist. Premiered in Detroit MI in the Fall of 1980. K. Ceasar, oboe, the composer at the piano.

Sonata (1977) Listen
-- alto saxophone & piano

Commissioned by Judith Peters, saxophonist. One of the composer's most lyric works. Three movements: Maestoso, Andante trattenuto, Vivace.
Dedicated to Judith Peters. Premiered by Ms. Peters and the composer on June 16th, 1978 at the Community Arts Auditorium, Detroit, MI.

Vocalise (1975) Listen
-- soprano, Bb clarinet & piano

Premiered in Detroit, MI on March 6, 1976 - Community Arts Auditorium.

Helianthus | Works | Score Samples | Audio Samples | Gallery | News | Concert Schedule
Biography | Reviews | Contact Info | Links | Christopher Morgan Loy ©2004         Credits